Guy Salamon Group

12 April 2024 - 18:30 - 19:00   |  Kulturzentrum Schlachthof

Guy Salamon Group’s latest album, FREE HUGS, is set in a post-absurdist reality, and recounts how a small group of egg-people try to find their way back home from a bizarre alternate universe. This new album will be released on May 31, 2024. The Israeli-born drummer-composer’s Amsterdam-based octet plays original music inspired by Charles Mingus, Tom Waits, Sasha Argov, Emir Kusturica, folk music, hard-bop and punk. The result is a unique blend of chaos and coherence. “Salomon’s compositions from swing and punk to polka, spin around in a merry-go-round full of musical joy.” (NRC).

Guy Salamon – drums
Alistair Payne – trumpet
José Soares – alto saxophone
Lucas Martinez – tenor saxophone
Jesse Schilderink – baritone saxophone
Xavi Torres – piano
Teis Semey – guitar
Brodie Jarvie – bass